dialecticdreamer: My work (Default)
[personal profile] dialecticdreamer
Happenstance
By Dialecticdreamer/Sarah Williams
Part 1 of 1, complete
Word count (story only): 1698
[Morning of Saturday, 4 November of 2017]



:: By the time Jules reached the downtown library, he still hadn’t found a share bike… But he did find Blainn. Part of the “Lodestar” arc, set in the Polychrome Heroics universe. ::




November sunshine in this part of California had, apparently, decided to copy the high desert profile. By the time Jules reached the library, a wet triangle soaked the back of his shirt along his spine, and the liter water bottle clipped to his belt loop was empty. He hadn’t found a single share bike, though the buses were running smoothly, and mostly on time.

He frowned, worried that the schedule had changed while he was gone.
Read more... )

Character names

19 Mar 2026 06:52 pm
fayanora: qrcode (Default)
[personal profile] fayanora
"#WritingQThursday Let's talk your characters' names. What do they mean? Do they signify anything special? Does your character have any nicknames, and if so, what's the story behind those?"

I usually put a lot of thought into my characters' names. Everyone but the minor side characters has thought out names. "Random extra #47" gets a random name from a list of most popular names, if they get a name at all. Dalia, her name means "a strong branch," for instance. It's also a pun, because she's black and her name is usually pronounced the same as the flower, 'dahlia.' (Sometimes it's pronounced "Doll-yah.") Her middle name is Delphinium, which is the name of a genus of poisonous flowers because Morgana's family has a history of at least one of their names being named after poisonous flowers. (It's a goth thing for them.) Like Morgana's middle name is Belladonna (AKA deadly nightshade). Morgana's mother's first name is also Belladonna. (Her middle name is Hemlock.) Morgana also has a brother named Oleander. (Dalia canonically chooses her own first and middle name, after having her parents read a lot of possible names for her out of a baby names book. Chooli also chooses zeer own name, naming zemself after one of Nizoni's cousins, Chooli Peshlakai. Said cousin was the first person Nizoni came out as trans to.)

Rest is VERY long )

20 Mar 2026 12:28 pm
thawrecka: (Default)
[personal profile] thawrecka
Life is so short. I want to say that I don't know what to say, but I do. I was very intensely into LJRP/DWRP in my 20s; at a time when other people were doing uni and postgrad and forming friendships with people at uni, I was making RP friends. I slowly drifted away from a lot of people, without even meaning to, because life happens, but they were present for a very important, very intense part of my life and I kept meaning to reach out and get to know them again. And then someone dies, and I realise it's too late. A strange, wistful feeling. I think I'm crying more because people I love are grieving than anything else, because I didn't know AJ very well anymore, but really, what a loss.

If there's any upside, it's that this motivated everyone to get back in touch. We are all so much older than we used to be, and some people we still can't find, but it's so nice to get back in touch.

Watched:

I'm still deep into the Prince of Tennis marathon. I remembered nothing of this junior selection camp filler arc until I got to the point where they were all like, wow, Sengoku got shredded!!! Why is that the thing I remember? The boxing style tennis is hilarious, sorry to say. Also, Samada telling Atobe he doesn't care about Atobe's obsession with Tezuka and then Dan faithfully reporting this to Tezuka is hilarious.

Though Tezuka slapping Ryoma to the ground just because Ryoma wants to play a tennis game Tezuka didn't sanction is um serious values dissonance moment, because I think this makes Tezuka look shitty and the anime does not.
[syndicated profile] gallusrostromegalus_feed

regicidal-defenestration:

regicidal-defenestration:

One time I saw a fake headline about the Vatican announcing the virgin Mary’s new nemesis, la puta Waría, and ever since that day I’ve quoted it like anybody else knows what I’m talking about

A statue of Mary (mother of Christ) painted over to look like Wario, with a Wario moustache and two Wario bombs. Title reads "El Vaticano presenta a Waria, la némesis malvada de la Virgen María"ALT

They didn’t even call her that I’ve just been making it up in my mind this whole time

Thursday Recs

19 Mar 2026 07:52 pm
soc_puppet: Dreamsheep, its wool patterned after the Demigirl Pride flag, in mirrored horizontal stripes of gray, pale gray, pink, and white; the Dreamwidth logo echoes these colors. (Demigirl)
[personal profile] soc_puppet posting in [community profile] queerly_beloved
Hello, all! It's time once again for Thursday Recs!

With Tumblr's recent foibles in mind, this week I'm going to rec [community profile] newcomers; if you're new to Dreamwidth, or even if you've been here a while, there are lots of friendly people there who are willing to help answer questions and figure things out with you. I personally have posted a lot of (rather Tumblr-centric) tutorials about Dreamwidth there. If you know someone who's interested in learning more about Dreamwidth, it's a good place to point them!


Do you have a rec for this week? Just reply to this post with something queer or queer-adjacent (such as, soap made by a queer person that isn't necessarily queer themed) that you'd, well, recommend. Self-recs are welcome, as are recs for fandom-related content!

Or have you tried something that's been recced here? Do you have your own report to share about it? I'd love to hear about it!
frenzy: (Default)
[personal profile] frenzy
Had this all written yesterday, but forgot to post until now. Sorry!



What have i finished reading?

Nothin.



Currently reading?:

Us: Getting Past You & Me to Build a More Loving Relationship by Terry Real - No progress this week.

Moby Dick by Herman Melville - This week's chapter was just metal as hell, talking about different whale fossils. The prose really gave me pause. This really is the great american novel, isn't it?

The Dispossessed: An Ambiguous Utopia by Ursula K. Le Guin - The anarchist is back home, and everyone seems concerned that he has an ego and an orange blanket. Watch out, they might be demanding their own toothbrush soon.


Watching?:

Nothin this week tbh except the AEW PPV. I haven't finished it yet though, so no spoilers, please.

Listening?:

What Remains When Hope Has Failed by Nemorous - Gorgeous melodic black metal.

The Fatalist by Buffalo Nichols - Every Black man can do the satanic blues and i'll always love it.

Objects Without Pain by Great Falls - post-metal, post-hardcore, post whatever its heavy. I saw them when I saw Buffalo Nichols and Primitive Man.

Innern by Der Weg einer Freiheit - Heavy prog metal that can get pretty extreme at times but mellows out toward the last two tracks.


Playing?

The animal crossing dlc is so fucking boring. its just more stupid animal crossing doll house. I don't /care/ about Kapn's family because every critter in this game is second to ~*~ DOLL HOUSE ~*~. I miss when animal crossing had me building relationships with critters instead of designing rooms all the damn time.

19 Mar 2026 08:05 pm
flemmings: (Default)
[personal profile] flemmings
Hmpf. My Thermalon heatwrap is not Thermalon but a similar product called Medibeads. Works on the same principle but is much heavier and a tad unwieldy. Certainly no good for wrapping elbows in so must be the designated downstairs heat pack. Real Thermalons are available only at amazon. I really cannot buy two non-book things from amazon in the same month. So must resign myself to no more Thermalon. Am sad. 

Woke up light-headed this morning, which is no doubt my sinuses reacting to the budding season. Still managed to shop at Fiesta before tomorrow's wintry mix, and to get down to the basement for my dark wash. We're edging into t-shirt season here but not quite yet. However today's 8C was infinitely warmer than Monday's 10C. Wind or lack of makes all the difference.

Am reading a Dr Priestley whose blurb was a spoiler for the first half of the book. So I knew going in it would be a version of And Then There Were None. Anvillicious hints suggest it will also be The Revenger's Tragedy and I'm quite sure I know who the revenger is. I shall hope to be disappointed.
aflatmirror: Cyclists ascending a mountain road (cycling)
[personal profile] aflatmirror
  • This year's edition of the women's Strade Bianche was absolute fire. A group containing many of the pre-race favorites (namely Vollering, van der Breggen, Le Court-Pienaar and Ferrand-Prévot) got caught behind crashes and then took a wrong turn that took them fully out of contention. We ended up with a group of like six on the Via Santa Caterina: my dear fave Elisa Longo Borghini, who was the youngest ever winner of this race in 2017; one of my other faves Puck Pieterse in her road season debut; the surprise world champion Magdeleine Vallieres doing her rainbow bands proud; the people's princess Kasia Niewiadoma, who has never finished outside the top ten of this race in the more-than-a-decade that she's ridden it but never yet won it; and two of FDJ's super-domestiques, Franzi Koch and Elise Chabbey (the latter having been in the break for 60+ km beforehand!!), given free rein after their leader Vollering was stuck in that doomed chase group. A hectic watch-through-the-fingers finale (a relatively large group to be racing each other all out on these narrow, tangled medieval streets!), and the win goes to Chabbey! There was a cute moment in her post race interview where Demi stops by to congratulate her (if you do the math on the time gaps she must have just gotten off her own bike and made a beeline for Chabbey); I can't think of a way to word this that doesn't sound a bit passive aggressive or condescending, but I'm sure everyone in that chase group was disappointed and embarrassed and at least a bit mad at themselves, on top of the baseline post-race exhaustion, but she bounces back to congratulate her teammate on the win that she wanted so bad for herself? Very sweet and admirable.
  • Paris-Nice and Tirreno-Adriatico happened. Paris-Nice ended up quite underwhelming after all of Jonas' GC competition either pulled out beforehand or crashed out before any proper tests of their strength against one another. It doesn't really do anything to my baseline anxiety about Jonas' level, but it did my heart a little bit of good to see him get a few more wins on the board. Tirreno at least had a bit of intrigue, with Pellizzari spending a day in the lead before his little buddy del Toro took it home (by "it", I of course mean his new trident). By the way, their friendship is too fucking adorable.
  • Milano-Torino was very enjoyable. You got some beautiful scenery, a nice rhythm of moves and counter-moves, a couple shuffles of the cards in terms of who's at the front, many chances to go !!🫵😲 at [rider I like] doing something, a good Rogla interview before the race where he's as opaque, baffling and delightful as ever. Basically everything you could want from a bike race.
  • Milan San Remo on Saturday! It has a lot of hype to live up to after being by far the best monument of the year last year. Pog will probably run the same strategy he's been trying for the last few years, but he's missing two MVP domestiques who are both out injured at the moment (Narvaez broke some vertebrae at the Tour Down Under; Wellens broke his collarbone at Kuurne and he was wandering a field looking almost delirious from the pain, putting me in mind of a deer that's just been hit by a car. It was one of the more disturbing things this sport has given me cause to see 😬). Some enticing questions to be answered, including, on the women's side, will the peloton realize they can try to drop Lorena Wiebes before the finish?

Daily Check-In

19 Mar 2026 07:52 pm
mecurtin: Icon of a globe with a check-mark (fandom_checkin)
[personal profile] mecurtin posting in [community profile] fandom_checkin
This is your check-in post for today. The poll will be open from midnight Universal or Zulu Time (8pm Eastern Time) on Thursday, March 19, to midnight on Friday, March 20 (8pm Eastern Time).

Poll #34386 Daily check-in poll
This poll is closed.
Open to: Access List, detailed results viewable to: Access List, participants: 23

How are you doing?

I am OK
12 (52.2%)

I am not OK, but don't need help right now
11 (47.8%)

I could use some help
0 (0.0%)

How many other humans live with you?

I am living single
9 (39.1%)

One other person
9 (39.1%)

More than one other person
5 (21.7%)



Please, talk about how things are going for you in the comments, ask for advice or help if you need it, or just discuss whatever you feel like.
[syndicated profile] gallusrostromegalus_feed


unhallowedarts:

unexplained-events:

The Enigma of Amigara Fault

This short story by Junji Ito is about a fault that appears in Amigara mountain after an earthquake. The earthquake exposes countless human-shaped holes in the mountain which seem to have been made about a thousand years ago. People, intrigued by these  silhouettes, gather at the site and that’s when things get creepy.

It’s about a 15-20 min read, but if you haven’t read this before, you’re in for a treat. Link above.

i mean it’s not like i can just NOT reblog amigara fault. what if one of my followers is one of the lucky ten thousand who HASN’T been unutturably altered for life by it yet? go read it! it’s creepy, but trust me, it was made for you.

thursday

19 Mar 2026 06:32 pm
summersgate: (Default)
[personal profile] summersgate
2026-3-19Old-elms.jpg
I got so many compliments on that overpainted photo I did the other day of the entity that I thought I'd try that technique again. I took this pic yesterday morning of a row of old elm trees that lines the edge of the property. The pet cemetery is on the hill right behind the trees. If it would be possible I'd like to be "green burial" buried here too. It's on Jules' land though. So far he doesn't like the idea that much. Maybe he''ll come around someday.

We had women's group today. All 5 of us, which is always great. The group has gone through many names and lost some members over the years. We were trying to remember all the names that we used to call the group. First I think it was called writers group, then sister circle, art group and now women's group. It could be called the lunch club now I suppose. Going out to lunch has become a regular feature. Though I think next week I'm going to bring my big box of words and maybe we can talk or write about thoughts that come up from the words - go back in spirit to the old writer's group.

The curse of the cursor

19 Mar 2026 08:57 pm
[syndicated profile] unsung_feed

Posted by Marcin Wichary

I had no idea it was Alan Kay himself who was responsible for the mouse pointer’s distinctive shape. In 2020, James Hill-Khurana emailed him and got this answer:

The Parc mouse cursor appearance was done (actually by me) because in a 16x16 grid of one-bit pixels (what the Alto at Parc used for a cursor) this gives you a nice arrowhead if you have one side of the arrow vertical and the other angled (along with other things there, I designed and made many of the initial bitmap fonts).

Then it stuck, as so many things in computing do.

And boy, did it stick.

But let’s rewind slightly. The first mouse pointer during the Doug Engelbart’s 1968 Mother Of All Demos was an arrow faced straight up, which was the obvious symmetrical choice:

(You can see two of them, because Engelbart didn’t just invent a mouse – he also thought of a few steps after that, including multiple people collaborating via mice.)

But Kay’s argument was that on a pixelated screen, it’s impossible to do this shape justice, as both slopes of the arrow will be jagged and imprecise. (A second unvoiced argument is that the tip of the arrow needs to be a sharp solitary pixel, but that makes it hard to design a matching tail of the cursor since it limits your options to 1 or 3 or 5 pixels, and the number you want is probably 2.)

Kay’s solution was straightening the left edge rather than the tail, and that shape landed in Xerox Alto in the 1970s:

Interestingly enough, the top facing cursor returned as one of the variants in Xerox Star, the 1981 commercialized version of Alto…

…but Star failed, and Apple’s Lisa in 1983 and Mac in 1984 followed in Alto’s footsteps instead. Then, 1985’s Windows 1.0 grabbed a similar shape – only with inverted colors – and the cursor has looked the same ever since.

That’s not to say there weren’t innovations since (mouse trails useful on slow LCD displays of the 1990s, shake to locate that Apple added in 2015), or the more recent battles with the hand mouse pointer popularized by the web.

But the only substantial attempt at redesigning the mouse pointer that I am aware of came from Apple in 2020, during the introduction of trackpad and mousing to the iPad. The mouse pointer a) was now a circle, b) morphed into other shapes, and c) occasionally morphed into the hovered objects themselves, too:

The 40-minute deep dive video is, today, a fascinating artifact. On one hand, it’s genuinely exciting to see someone take a stab at something that’s been around forever. Evolving some of the physics first tried in Apple TV’s interface feels smart, and the new inertia and magnetism mechanics are fun to think about.

But the high production value and Apple’s detached style robs the video of some authenticity. This is “Capital D Design” and one always has to remain slightly suspicious of highly polished design videos and the inherent propensity for bullshit that comes with the territory. Strip away the budget and the arguments don’t fully coalesce (why would the same principles that made text pointer snap vertically not extend to its horizontal movement?), and one has to wonder about things left unsaid (wouldn’t the pointer transitions be distracting and slow people down?).

Yet, I am speaking with the immense benefit of hindsight. Actually using that edition of the mouse pointer on my iPad didn’t feel like the revolution suggested, and barely even like an evolution. (Seeing Apple TV’s tilting buttons for the first time was a lot more enthralling.) And, Apple ended up undoing a bunch of the changes five years later anyway. The pointer went back to a familiar Alan Kay-esque shape…

…and lost its most advanced morphing abilities:

Watching the 2025 WWDC video mentioning the change (the relevant parts start at 8:40) is another interesting exercise:

2020:

We looked at just bringing the traditional arrow pointer over from the Mac, but that didn’t feel quite right on iPadOS. […] There’s an inconsistency between the precision of the pointer and the precision required by the app. So, while people generally think about the pointer in terms of giving you increased precision compared to touch, in this case, it’s helpful to actually reduce the precision of the pointer to match the user interface.

2025:

Everything on iPad was designed for touch. So the original pointer was circular in shape, to best approximate your finger in both size and accuracy. But under the hood, the pointer is actually capable of being much more precise than your finger. So in iPadOS 26, the pointer is getting a new shape, unlocking its true potential. The new pointer somehow feels more precise and responsive because it always tracks your input directly 1 to 1.

(That “somehow” in the second video is an interesting slip up.)

I hope this doesn’t come across as making fun of the presenters, or even of the to-me-overdesigned 2020 approach. We try things, sometimes they don’t work, and we go back to what worked before.

I just wish Apple opened itself up a bit more; there are limits to the “we’ve always been at war with Eastasia” PR approach they practice in these moments, and I would genuinely be curious what happened here: Did people hate the circular pointer? Was it hard to adopt by app developers? Was it just a random casualty of Liquid Glass’s visual style, or perhaps the person who was the biggest proponent of it simply left Apple? We could all learn from this.

But the most interesting part to me is the resilience of the slanted mouse pointer shape. In a post-retina world, one could imagine a sharp edge at any angle, and yet we’re stuck with Kay’s original sketch – refined to be sure, but still sporting its slightly uncomfortable asymmetry.

The always-excellent Posy covered this in the first 7 minutes of his YouTube video:

But specifically one comment under that video caught my attention:

Honestly, I’ve never thought of the mouse cursor as an arrow, but rather its own shape. My mind was blown when I realized that it was just an arrow the whole time.

…because maybe this is actually the answer. Maybe the mouse pointer went on the same journey floppy disk icon did, and transcended its origins. It’s not an arrow shape anymore. It’s the mouse pointer shape, and it forever will be.

Prompt 2792: Party

19 Mar 2026 10:41 pm
immortalje: Typwriter with hands typing (Default)
[personal profile] immortalje posting in [community profile] dailyicons

closed



Today's prompt is: party



• You have 2 days time to submit an icon for this prompt (in other words, until prompt 2794 gets posted)!
• Prompt 2790 has been closed.
• If you have any questions regarding the prompt, feel free to ask in a comment.
• To submit an icon you simply reply to this post with the following information:
Icon:
Claim: (only necessary if it's a specific claim)
Status: (e.g. #1/10 - number of icon completed/table size)

Pre-formatted

february booklog of excess

19 Mar 2026 09:23 pm
wychwood: every artist is a cannibal (gen - U2 artist cannibal)
[personal profile] wychwood
17. An Academic Affair - Jodi McAlister ) Enormously fun and I'm hoping for sequels!


18. The Shots You Take - Rachel Reid ) Fairly forgettable, but still entertaining enough to keep me reading.


19. The Spy Who Loved Me - Ian Fleming ) I don't think Fleming is for me, but there was some enjoyment available.


Greenwing and Dart - Victoria Goddard ) Fluffy, fun (despite a substantial amount of mortal peril) and a generally satisfying binge.


26. How to Win Friends and Influence People - Dale Carnegie ) Dated but I think still worth reading.


27. Holiday in Death, 28. Festive in Death, and 29. Framed in Death - JD Robb ) I always enjoy these - but particularly liked the opportunity to revisit the early part of the series in contrast to the newer state of things!


30. Derring-Do for Beginners - Victoria Goddard ) I was hoping for more actual, you know, Red Company, but this was so much fun I can't have too many regrets.


31. Jane Austen: A Life - Claire Tomalin ) I think this is probably as enlightening as it could reasonably have been, but I was a little disappointed, somehow, despite learning a fair amount. It's not badly-written at all, but it never really won me over somehow.


32. Chain-Gang All-Stars - Nana Kwame Adjei-Brenyah ) Ultra-violent, really thumpingly Message-y, and strangely compelling; I don't think I'll ever want to re-read it, but I am interested to see where Adjei-Brenyah goes from here.


33. Blood Sport, 35. The Edge, and 37. Risk - Dick Francis ) A trio of delightfully exciting nonsenses; I'm so sorry I didn't discover Francis years ago, but on the other hand at least they are a source of joy for me now.


34. Men Explain Things to Me - Rebecca Solnit ) A short but concentrated dose of feminist rage.


36. Outcrossing - Celia Lake ) On paper this absolutely should be my jam, but it entirely is not.


38. Batman: Wayne Family Adventures vol 2 - CRC Payne and Starbite ) Adorable. This series is just so fun.


39. Just One Damned Thing After Another - Jodi Taylor ) This is a fun concept, but the archaeology / history is worse than in Connie Willis' Oxford Time Travel books and that's saying something. I didn't hate it, but I had to disconnect my brain way too much to enjoy it.


40. Ambiguity Machines - Vandana Singh ) A really excellent collection, even though I couldn't muster quite the delight I wanted from it.


41. Get A Life, Chloe Brown - Talia Hibbert ) I enjoyed this, although I'm not sure if I'll read more Hibbert.
extrapenguin: (swtor)
[personal profile] extrapenguin
Over the past few days, I've rediscovered my drawerfic, All That is Solid Melts into Air (currently at ~65k). RotS canon divergence, TCW/Prequel Trilogy. I thought it was great, so I immediately went and bugged the author for an ending.

As it currently is, I'd written the setup for the grand climax, had notes for the grand climax, and had written a ~700-word epilogue chapter.* Why, then, was a I blocked?

I realized it was a matter of pacing. I could have hopped straight into the climactic battle, sure, but that would have been unsatisfying. I knew, instinctively, that I needed something in between to make the transition less abrupt, but not exactly what I needed to write to build the tension and anticipation. Now I have an idea for the necessary two scenes in there, after which I can write ~3 scenes of climactic space-and-ground battle, plus ~4 shorter scenes of wrap-up before transitioning into the epilogue chapter.

* I find epilogue chapters very useful if you're posting chapter by chapter and also want reactions to the climax. Usually, reader comments on the final chapter are less about the contents of the final chapter and more about the fic in its entirety, which can be a bit of a bummer if you did something cool in there and wanted to see people's reactions.
[syndicated profile] atlas_obscura_places_feed

One of the alcoves near one of the crypt's windows

The Liverpool Metropolitan Cathedral is one of Liverpool’s two largest churches as well as a notable part of Liverpool’s skyline. The brutalist Catholic church features a conical structure topped by a cylindrical spire. The interior is noted for its unusual round layout, with the altar placed at the center of the church and with chapels arranged along the church’s periphery.

However, what is truly unexpected for such a modern and unconventional church is the spacious neoclassical crypt hidden directly underneath it. The reason why the architectural styles of the top and bottom parts of the Liverpool Metropolitan Cathedral differ so dramatically from each other is a consequence of the complicated history of the building’s construction. 

The local Catholic church leadership decided in 1922 to pursue the construction of a cathedral for the city’s burgeoning Catholic population, and they initially employed famed British architect Sir Edwin Lutyens to design the church. Luytens’ design featured an enormous neoclassical brick building topped with a giant dome that would have been 520 feet (158 m) tall. Such a building would have been comparable in size to the Liverpool Cathedral being built nearby by the Church of England at the same time, and its dome specifically would have been bigger than the dome of St. Peter’s in Rome.

The cornerstone was laid in 1933, and construction proceeded on the cathedral’s crypt until rising costs and disruptions from World War II brought the building work to a stop. Sir Edwin Luytens would unfortunately pass away in 1944 without seeing the realization of his grand project.

The worksite stood idle for multiple years after World War II simply because the original design was too costly to construct. In 1960, a competition was held to redesign the church so that the something affordable could be placed at the incomplete construction site, and Sir Frederick Gibberd’s brutalist conical design won. Construction of the concrete structure on top of Luyten’s neoclassical crypt began in 1962, and by 1967, the new brutalist cathedral was completed and consecrated.

While the brutalist cathedral is widely recognized as one of Liverpool’s architectural treasures and while it still plays a major role in Liverpool’s society today, the crypt is not only less prominent architecturally but also psychologically. Still, the crypt continues to be used by the church for multiple purposes. The crypt contains chapels and meeting spaces as well as a small exhibtion area and a treasury containing many historical religious items from a range of time periods extending to before the Reformation. Visitors to this hidden area can not only learn about the history of the cathedral but get insights into the original architect’s ambitions for the building.

(Full alt-text below the cut.)

19 Mar 2026 11:04 am
[syndicated profile] gallusrostromegalus_feed

thatdisasterauthor:

A poster that looks like a game board with 49 numbered squares. On the squares is an isometric forested neighborhood. There are a variety of houses along several streets, surrounded by various trees. Some of the houses are connected by yellow fences that go across multiple squares. There are also wind gusts that go across multiple squares. The game is half played with four pieces that look like little fires having left a blackened trail across the board. At the top of the poster and above the board is the heading, "Don't play games with mitigation." Below the board is the game title "Winds & Embers" along with the rules of the game, which are the same rules as "Chutes & Ladders." Below that is a short blurb about wildland fire mitigation and why it is important. There is also an illustration of a game spinner on the bottom right of the poster. Everything is in a flat, simple style.ALT

(Full alt-text below the cut.)

Awhile ago when I was talking about wildland fire mitigation and how fires move through urban areas, I was struck by a visual of mitigation but make it Chutes & Ladders. It seemed like a potentially good educational aid, so I decided to make it into a poster!

I think the general movement dynamic of Chutes & Ladders does a good job of capturing the basics of how fire can move through urban areas and spread erratically, jumping and moving from one area to another while leaving some areas untouched.

I actually fell in love with this enough that I think I’m going to turn it into a full game at some point as well, with a full 100 square board. That version will have two sets of rules, one the basic Chutes & Ladders rules and then another that has points involved based on which houses you hit. Not sure when I’ll get to it, but it’s on my To Do list!

This version is totally playable, though! You can get the print file of this version, and a version that has a clear board, for free on my Payhip Store! The poster is 18x24" and the playable version comes with a second sheet with pieces you can cut out and play with.

Continuar lendo

[syndicated profile] gallusrostromegalus_feed

thatdisasterauthor:

Behold the editor duck. I designed him as a sticker for my current Kickstarter, and I love him oh so much.

Sometimes you just have to rant about your writing problems to an inanimate object until the problems go away.

Halfway there!

19 Mar 2026 10:58 am
[syndicated profile] gallusrostromegalus_feed

thatdisasterauthor:

The Novel Navigation Notecards Kickstarter is officially halfway there with plenty of time to get it all the way to the goal!

Thank you so much to everyone who has pledged, boosted, and supported these little notecards so far. I’m so excited to be able to share them with other writers and storytellers.

Novel Navigation Notecards are a storytelling tool to help you find the exact right balance between plotting and pantsing that works for your brain and your writing style.

The project is still funding through April 4th if you want to check it out!

New K-9 fic: Vigil (Ren)

19 Mar 2026 07:31 pm
vriddy: K-9 Volume 1 Cover (k-9)
[personal profile] vriddy
300th fic posted on AO3 :D
(overall, I mean. Not just for K-9!!!!!!!!!! ;D Not yet 😌)

We've seen multiple times in canon now how Ren always waits for teenage girls to wake up after they get involved in Sin-related incidents usually way bigger than they are. Even if she has nothing to say, even if she knows her encouraging words won't be enough. She waits, says something kind, doesn't mind if she gets talked to rudely, then goes on her way, back to her work trying to fix all this.

Another thing I like to do when I'm tired of thinking about K-9 directly (haha as if) is trying to analyse the story structure, how information gets drip-fed to us, what kind of information. What questions are raised, which ones get answers, what new questions those bring up. I am enchanted. May I write such fascinating stories with fascinating casts when I grow up :D <3


Vigil | K-9 | Ren | 300 words | rated T

Summary: Ren always waits for the girls to wake up at the hospital afterwards, like no one did for her.

Read it on Dreamwidth or AO3.

Buffy not rebooting

19 Mar 2026 06:29 pm
beccaelizabeth: my Watcher tattoo in blue, plus Be in red Buffy style font (Default)
[personal profile] beccaelizabeth
I had been reserving judgement on the Buffy reboot until it actually existed because before that all is rumour
but apparently it is back to Not Existing
so apparently now I have thoughts.

The thing with Buffy is:

We need a theme.
- It has to be a socially conscious theme.
One that reflects the students' growing awareness of...
...and involvement in the world around them.


That's the movie talking about naming the school dance, but compare any given season of Buffy.
We grow up, we notice new and stabbier problems, we realise we are the ones meant to deal with this, however unfair that seems.

And you get that pretty smoothly in the high school seasons, culminating with the theme and practice of Graduation Day.

But there are people who are less impressed with the development of the characters after that.

I read in a screenwriting book that you have to bear in mind that the vast majority of your viewers went to school, but only a majority of the writers room went to college.

The way society is set up for the past few generations we have this unifying experience of sitting in rooms where everyone has to be, being told a bunch of stuff that's meant to get us ready for the world outside school, with varying degrees of success.

But after that everyone's experience fragments, and the viewers reactions cannot be relied upon to come from a similar point of view.

Which, yeah but no but. A, could they ever? And B, Buffy did not spend overly much time in a classroom.

The core shared experience of the characters was
we have all this compulsory stuff to deal with that we're being told endlessly is Super Important
but now there are Things
which are actual life and death important
yet must be dealt with after and around school.

You can build out a lot of experiences from there. Like season six and the quest for more money. There is compulsory stuff, and now, also, Trauma. You somehow have to juggle both.

But part of what makes that heavy is the way even the closest support systems of the main characters simply do not acknowledge the life and death stuff. The trivial and transitory is compulsory, the being attacked by vampires is somehow not a problem anyone needed to prepare you for or admit is happening.

Relatable!

... no really, there is a very light metaphor skin on so much that is super relatable there.

And a lot of that is being prepared for the wrong things the wrong way. There's so much pressure on You, Yes You, Personally, Alone, doing things perfectly right first time Or Else End Of The World.
... exams must lead to the perfect start or life is wrecked forever, etc.

And this is all wrapped up in Patriarchy and how the Important tasks are *somehow* not the ones that Someone needs to do every single day or everyone dies. Home Ec is not a high status set of lessons despite the fact they're actual baseline essentials. You are not expected to make bank by doing the things that keep other people alive. Someone has to clean, cook, care, patrol every night, and hey, look who it is again.

Watchers get paid, Slayers get Called. Patriarchy at its finest, core to the metaphor.

(Making it Patrol, defense safety violence and therefore traditionally gendered and valued differently, is part of the defamiliarisation that makes Buffy work.)

And who can you go to for help?
Actually varies by season, and to some extent having the help crumble out from under you and growing to replace it is a core mechanic.
Parents, teachers, Watchers, government, all the support systems and institutions do what they can, demonstrate why they left the world the way the youngers find it, and crumble out of the way, while the protagonists grow to fill their roles.

Change that and you change the genre significantly.
Horror believes in the injury but not the hospital, in crime but not policing, in the threats but not defenses.
Coming of age stories see all that and say, our turn now.



So you put together all these constraints and you get the framework that the actual plots and characters build out on. You get Giles being slightly useless because he's an older in a story about growing up, you get schools that purport to help but become the source of threat, you get youngers that have to push back and take over.



So what do you do with all that
twenty years later
when you still have *Buffy* the vampire slayer?


It's easy enough to posit a world that still has vampires, but what does that say about *Buffy*? Yes, that the task is never ending, but also, why is someone still in school being Chosen to step up and help with it?

Buffy ended the show by sharing her power, so everyone that can stand up will stand up. Slayers all.
Equals, and within the framework of the show, as grown up as they are getting.

She went from the new kid in school to the general of an army.

What institutions did she set up after that?

How did they fail?

If they didn't fail, why do we have a plot?



And I think this is a fascinating set of questions, if Gen Z ask Gen X about them.
... I just had to look up the likely generation age ranges and apparently Gen Z are the ones who got born after Buffy started saving the world and are at youngest 14 now, so quite the age range there.

What world did they get born into, how did Buffy fail to fix it, who has she become in response to that, who can the youngers go to for help and Why does that fail in such a way we get plot?


Seems like we could look at the world and mine a rich seam for all of that, even if we focus primarily on gender.
If the text looks in the eye the race problems of the original we start getting proper interesting.


And I personally would start with the core concept of Slayer and the assumption that the ability to stake your problems will ever make them go away, but that's because I look at the genres I prefer to read watch listen to and tend to go But What If Completely A Different Thing.

... diplomatic solutions with non humans would change the baseline metaphor so much. but. So many years of BtVS and Angel presenting vampires and demons as basically people? The stabbing gets problematic.



The problem is all this either shifts Buffy into a different character with a non protagonist status, or leaves you running parallel coming of age and middle age stories. Which would be tricky! But the thing Giles had to reckon with in the background where the institution he gave his life to was... kind of sucktastic, and the person he thought he wanted to be in his early twenties turned out to just leave problems for the next generation, well, that's a start.


I think Buffy restarted right now could be fascinating.

But it could not be the same story. Writing the same story already makes it a different story. You would have to grapple with the differences.
[syndicated profile] in_the_pipeline_feed

Here’s the other cognition/aging/Alzheimer’s paper that caught my eye. In a similar way to the work I highlighted yesterday on proteins released by the liver affecting the blood-brain barrier and overall brain function, this one is finding another external signal, from from an unexpected direction.

The authors studied the intestinal microbiomes of mice as they aged, and found that species that produce medium-chain fatty acids become more and more prevalent. Then a complex series of events start taking place: these metabolites are ligands for the human GPR84 protein and can drive inflammation in myeloid cells through that activation. This in turn weakens the neural traffic through the vagal system, and this loss of “interoceptive” signaling to the brain leads to a decline in hippocampal function. Impaired memory, in other words. 

Now that’s one that I wouldn’t have seen coming, but as the paper shows in its references, there are a number of other reports pointing in this microbiome/memory direction. Now overall, the signal/noise of microbiome work is not as high as it should be, but papers like this new one are an important step in shoring up such hypotheses, trying to bridge some of the “by some mechanism that we haven’t figured out yet” gaps. It’s not that new and interesting ideas have to eliminate all of those leaps, but if you have to invoke that sort of thing too many times you’re asking for trouble. Here’s how you avoid that (hint: it involves an awful lot of work).

One experiment done here was to house very young (two-month old) mice with old (18-month-old) ones, which led to exchange of microbiome species between the two cohorts and an equilibrium that looked quite a bit more like the old ones. This didn’t seem to have any real effects on physical health and energy levels (or even things like exploratory behavior), but the short-term and long-term memory task performance of the young mice declined. To control for social effects, the team tried things like direct faecal microbiome transplants from the old mice into the young ones, and this recapitulated the memory effects all by itself. Meanwhile, co-housing gnotobiotic (germ-free) mice of both age groups did not affect the memories of the younger ones. Similarly, treating regular groups of young and old mice with two weeks of antibiotics also restored memory task performance in both cohorts.

And yes, the aged germ-free mice also performed much better on memory tests than the ones with typical microbiomes, so all of these results point in the same direction. There appears to be a gut microbial factor that impairs memory in older mice. Looking at the bacterial species that were present across different ages, Parabacteroides goldsteinii looked like the top candidate. (That one has already been the subject of a great deal of microbiome work in humans, as that link will show) Colonizing either germ-free or post-antibiotic mice with this species alone brought on the memory trouble, but this effect could not be demonstrated with other species that increased with age, nor with some that showed no real change as the mice aged.

Looking at the brains of the impaired mice, it appeared that neuronal function was disrupted in the hippocampus and in several areas known to be involved with sensory processing. A weird and interesting result was that many of the neurons involved in the vagus nerve’s gut-to-brain connections express the TRPV1 vanilloid receptor. Chemogenetic silencing of this receptor gave memory behavior similar to the aged mice, while activation of it seemed to restore function in the elderly cohort. That extended even to such low-tech methods as giving the mice capsaicin as a TRPV1 agonist (!) Other gut-responsive signals such as CCK or GLP-1 showed improvements in the presence of added agonists, although their underlying levels were not changed with aging and/or P. goldsteinii infection.

Further experiments showed that (as mentioned above) medium-chain fatty acids produced by those bacteria seem to be the actual signal driving these effects. Oral administration of things like decanoic acid and 3-hydroxyoctanoic acid were enough to affect cognition by themselves, and demonstrated effects along the whole causal chain the above work had laid out (vagus nerve activation and the sensory and hippocampal brain regions). These are known to be ligands for GPR84, and the team showed that mice with inactivating mutations in that receptor were immune to the effects of added medium-chain acids and showed delayed onset of memory trouble in general as compared to wild-type mice. The receptor is largely found in myeloid cells (macrophages, monocytes, and neutrophils) and ablating these also restored memory function (demonstrated through a set of bone-marrow experiments).

This looks to me like a very solid paper where the authors have tried to shore up every step of their hypothesis. Inflammation-driven defects in interoceptive signaling truly does look like a cause of memory decline in mice: but does it work that way in humans? You can bet that work is going on as we speak to find that out, but this pathway fits in very well with the overall idea that inappropriate inflammation is a driver of age-related brain dysfunction. But I have to say, we weren’t looking for it first in the gut rather than directly in the brain! There’s clearly a lot of work to be done here, and direct pharmacological intervention in these interoceptive pathways could really be beneficial. Starting with more hot sauce, given those capsaicin results? Try it today!

sovay: (Otachi: Pacific Rim)
[personal profile] sovay
I can't believe I dreamed an entire opera whose closing performance by a small local outfit I was all set to attend before it was canceled at the last unavoidable minute. It was a Gian Carlo Menotti from 1948 and had never before received a Boston premiere. I had read its libretto for years because it was full of sand and sea-haunting: No body that presses its mouth to the shore closer than your mouth to mine. No eye that fades into the haze of the sun more fixed than your eye to mine. No ship of a letter that crosses the seas faster than my hand to yours, unless it has foundered, unless it has torn on the black rocks of the heart. It had one of his terse, enigmatic titles, The Visitor. The company that had put it up was called Marmalade and Gold, an allusion whose meaning did not escape the event horizon of waking, and specialized in bare-bones, slightly more than concert performances of oddities or undeserved obscurities of the twentieth-century opera world: I remember perusing the catalogue of previous seasons on their website and approving of their choices, all of which I suspect of not existing outside of the hour or so I was asleep. Erich Wolfgang Korngold did write a bunch of operas, mostly before—very popular choice—leaving Germany, but I do not believe a 1932 Der lahme König was among them. I am having a terrible week for which the external world offers nothing in the way of respite and even if I didn't get to hear any of its music, I appreciate the inside of my head attempting to furnish a break of art.
forestofglory: E. H. Shepard drawing of Christopher Robin reading a book to Pooh (Default)
[personal profile] forestofglory
I’ve been sick for the last week or so which meant there was a lot of time to sit around reading but I didn’t have a lot of energy to write things up. But now I’m doing better so have a media roundup! (This isn’t everything I read while sick because some of it I didn’t have the energy to write up, and also I’ve been slowly reading Batman: No Man’s Land and if I write something about it, I’m going to do so after I finish the whole story. )

Kareem Between by Shifa Saltagi Safadi— For kiddo’s school book club. This is so not my kind of book and I wouldn’t have read it if the kiddo hadn’t insisted. I just find contemporary books with political themes really really stressful! So this book about a Syrian-American boy in 2016-2017 was really not my cup of tea. So I think it was doing ok at being the book it wanted to be, but that book is not for me. Also the whole book was in poetry, and I don't think that actually added much – but also I’m not really a poetry person.

Krypto: The Last Dog of Krypton by Ryan North and Mike Norton— Since I've been reading a lot of superhero stuff an algorithm showed me this, and it's got a cute dog and is written by Ryan North so I thought I'd check it out (What has Ryan North been up to since Squirrel Girl? Maybe I should find out. Maybe I should reread Squirrel Girl)* This was a bit darker than I was expecting! And did really feature the elements of North’s style that I remember enjoying alot (witty dialogue and certain wacky over the top-ness) Though still mostly a sweet story. (Content note: abusive training/animal harm, animal death, children in peril)

Lumberjanes: Bonus Tracks and Lumberjanes: Campfire Songs— These are single issue Lumberjanes stories by a bunch of different writers and artists. I enjoyed the variety! I think my favorite story was the one that had Last Unicorn vibes (Look I watched that movie a lot as a kid)

Lumberjanes: The Infernal Compass by Lilah Sturges, polterink, et al— Lumberjanes original graphic novel – this was honestly a little disappointing, I didn’t feel like it really captured the vibe of the original comic. It did not help that this was one of those graphic novels with a very limited color palette (black, white and green) and I really missed the colorfulness!

Lumberjanes: The Shape of Friendship by Lilah Sturges, polterink, et al— Another lumberjanes graphic novel – I liked this one a lot better. It probably helped that my expectations were lowered after the first one but I do think it was a better story overall as well.

The Ribbon Skirt: A Graphic Novell by Cameron Mukwa— A middle grade graphic novel about Anang, a two-spirit and nonbinary Anishinaabe kid, who wants to wear a ribbon skirt to an upcoming powwow. This is very sweet! There are talking turtle spirits! There’s also Anang’s friend who is uncomfortable with Anang’s identity and kinda transphobic about it as heads up

* after writing this I did look up what Ryan North has been up to, some library holds have been placed. Also I noticed that he has PDF’s of all of his academic papers available on his website and I think that’s very charming and helpful of him.

19 Mar 2026 11:33 am
olivermoss: (Default)
[personal profile] olivermoss
The *other* hockey romance book series becoming a TV show has finally dropped a trailer



I am going to watch at least the start of it, we'll see how long I last. I do want to see sexy hockey scenes, but I don't know if I'd enjoy anything except those bits. I am glad the show got so delayed and it didn't come out right when Heated Rivalry did. There may be some people trying to compare them / pit them against each other, but it will be at least way less intense.
[syndicated profile] atlas_obscura_places_feed

The beginning of the tunnel

On January 20, 2026, the historic section of the Villanueva Tunnel, also known as the Bonaparte Tunnel because it was commissioned by King Joseph I, Napoleon Bonaparte's older brother, was reopened to the public after its restoration.

The tunnel allowed the king to travel from the gardens of the Royal Palace (now the Campo del Moro Gardens) to the Casa de Vargas, a much more austere palace located in the Casa de Campo, the royal hunting grounds. Bonaparte was obsessed with security because he was aware of the hostility the Spanish people felt towards him, given his brother Napoleon's determination to install him as king of Spain, in reality a mere appendage of the French emperor.

Madrid was a hostile environment, especially after the abuses committed during the French occupation. Furthermore, the constant guerrilla warfare threatened his physical safety. Therefore, he commissioned his architect, Juan de Villanueva, the designer of the Prado Museum, to create an escape route in case things took a turn for the worse.

The tunnel was excavated in 1810, a year before his death, and was one of his last designs. It was no small feat: 50 meters underground, connecting the Campo del Moro gardens with the Casa de Campo, and wide enough for a horse-drawn carriage to pass through. A bridge over the Manzanares River completed the short journey. It was never used by Joseph during his short reign, and the tunnel was put at the service of the new king, Ferdinand VII, who ordered the construction of the Puente del Rey (King's Bridge) over the Manzanares River, thus completing the connection between the royal residences.

Later, the Campo del Moro gardens were landscaped during the reign of Isabella II and the regent Maria Christina of Habsburg, although the project underwent subsequent modifications. At the end of the 19th century, the architect Enrique Repullés Segarra and the gardener Ramón Oliva remodeled the tunnel to give it a more natural appearance, in harmony with the new design of the surrounding area.

The tunnel's last practical use was by King Alfonso XIII, who used it as an escape route in 1931 after the proclamation of the Republic.

The open and restored section, with its masonry and brickwork, is a small part of a complex system. A walkway has also been installed so that visitors can explore the tunnel. Once the work on the section managed by the Madrid City Council is completed, the underpass will be fully accessible.

glitteryv: (Default)
[personal profile] glitteryv
This is a v. OJO animated trailer for "Arirang" (the traditional Korean song AND BTS' album) that shows a version of the canonical story dating back to May 1896. Seven Korean men traveled to the US and performed for the crowds. Among the songs they sang was "Arirang"--and this lead to the first official recording of the song ever.

It's a video that honors the past AND connects it to BTS, a 7-member group of Korean men (IT'S ALWAYS THE 7 WITH BTS. FREAKING ALWAYS, LOL!) who debuted in 2013 and continue sharing Korean culture and folklore with the rest of the world.

One of the BEST things abt this trailer is that it includes a snippet of "Body to Body", the first song of the album.

The second best thing is that there's ZERO AI in the trailer. *points at the long list of credited artists* \o/!




Since I'm NOT Korean, I figured this other video from TTMIK is an A+ explainer of "Arirang"'s meaning AND significance. As well as how the ideas and values abt it are reflected in BTS' work.

duckprintspress: (Default)
[personal profile] duckprintspress
Remember our list of our most anticipated 2026 releases?

10 book covers and 2 gray book cover placeholders on the background of the Rainbow Flag. The books are: Last First Kiss by Julian Winters; I Love You Don't Die by Jade Song; The Girls Will Be Okay by Linnea Peterson; Platform Decay by Martha Wells; Common Bonds 2 ed. by Claudie Arseneault, Emery Lee & RoAnna Sylver; A Long and Speaking Silence by Nghi Vo; The Last Best Quest Ever by F.T. Lukens; Is This a Cry for Help? by Emily Austin; Bridget and Gabe Are Not Okay by Lex Croucher; Smash or Pass by Birdie Schae. The cover placeholders read: A Trade of Blood cover tba; Panguan cover tba.
 

Some of these books are now out, some are not, but regardless – if you’re as excited for any of these titles as we are, and you want to either buy them or pre-order them, I’ve got a deal for you!

Purchase any of these print books through our Affiliate Shop List, use code BSO15 to save 15% off the price!

This deal is ONLY good on print books (not e-books!), applies only to the list price (as in, doesn’t stack with other discounts), and the coupon is good NOW through April 1st 2026 (no foolin’!). You just have to make sure you use our affiliate link and get the book(s) you want through the list!

This is part of a pilot program that Bookshop.org is running to support affiliate shops like ours that utilize their list-building features. I’m pretty curious to see where they’re going with this program, and also am curious to see, like, if any of y’all use the coupon! So check out the books, save a little money, and get your queer read on.



[syndicated profile] atlas_obscura_places_feed

The Hugglescote Deathstar roundabout

When building a new estate in the village of Hugglescote in Leicestershire, the constructors gave a nod to “Star Wars” by creating a roundabout which when viewed from above was a representation of the Death Star.

The reason being that Hugglestone was once home to Palitoy, who used to manufacture “Star Wars” figurines (as well as Action Man and Pippa Dolls).

Birdfeeding

19 Mar 2026 11:49 am
ysabetwordsmith: Cartoon of me in Wordsmith persona (Default)
[personal profile] ysabetwordsmith posting in [community profile] birdfeeding
Today is mostly sunny and mild.  :D

The stump grinder guy has come and gone.  He did an excellent job.  The stump in front of the garden shed is gone and the hole mostly filled, though I'll add some top soil to smooth it out more.  The east path is nearly smooth, might need a bit of raking.  I'm particularly impressed that a ring of daffodils around the plump stump is still there!  I had expected to lose those, so the precision is noteworthy.  The parking lot is also nearly smooth.  He got right up to the edge of the sidewalk and rock wall, although he advised there are some buried rocks and concrete that we didn't know about.  I may need to rake some areas, and certainly need to see about removing the last stubs from the sidewalk to recreate that defensive zone.  My partner Doug plans to drive over the parking lot to press it down some before ordering a load of fresh gravel to top it.  Progress!

I fed the birds.  I've seen a mixed flock of sparrows and house finches.  Cardinals are singing.

I put out water for the birds.

EDIT 3/19/26 -- I put about half a bag of topsoil into the hole in front of the garden shed to smooth it out.  That may need more later after it settles, but it'll do for now.

EDIT 3/19/26 -- I filled a flat of 10 pots with potting soil and in each pot I planted 5 seeds of short landrace marigolds.  These are similar to Shithouse Marigolds but shorter.  If I can get them growing well, I can save money buying nursery marigolds.  I covered them with a plastic tub to serve as a greenhouse.  I still need to label them though.

EDIT 3/19/26 -- I labeled the marigolds.

I checked the east path.  It doesn't really need anything but grass seed.  We'll need to buy a big bag of that.  Recommended time for spring sowing is late March to mid-April.

I checked the parking lot.  I picked up a few pieces of junk that were churned up, but it's also pretty good.  I do need to work on clearing more of the sidewalk, but a lot of that will just be brushing dirt off it.

EDIT 3/19/26 -- I did a bit of work around the patio.

EDIT 3/19/26 -- I started working on the sidewalk again.  Much of what covers it is just loose dirt that needs to be scraped off.  Some is still packed dirt and roots.

EDIT 3/19/26 -- I watered the seeds under tubs.
 
It's 71°F now.  Over the next few days, it's supposed to reach 80°F. 0_o
 
EDIT 3/19/26 -- I started the process of topping up troughs on the new picnic table.  I want to finish those first six with the self-mulching potting soil.
 
EDIT 3/19/26 -- I did more work around the patio.
 
EDIT 3/19/26 -- I finished topping up the troughs.  I'll need to get more American Countryside potting mix.  I like how it self-mulches.  Soon I'll be planting peas in these.  My plan this year, instead of putting the peas in their own container, is to space them out so they fertilize other plants.  We'll see how that works.
 
While the deep freeze killed a fair amount of things, much has survived.  Crocus have already put out new flowers.  The bluebell leaves weren't as damaged as I expected.  More squills are blooming.  
 
It is 7:20 PM and not quite full dark.  This was my first after-supper yardening session.  :D
 
I am done for the night.
 
 

Birdfeeding

19 Mar 2026 11:44 am
ysabetwordsmith: Cartoon of me in Wordsmith persona (Default)
[personal profile] ysabetwordsmith
Today is mostly sunny and mild. :D

The stump grinder guy has come and gone. He did an excellent job. The stump in front of the garden shed is gone and the hole mostly filled, though I'll add some top soil to smooth it out more. The east path is nearly smooth, might need a bit of raking. I'm particularly impressed that a ring of daffodils around the plump stump is still there! I had expected to lose those, so the precision is noteworthy. The parking lot is also nearly smooth. He got right up to the edge of the sidewalk and rock wall, although he advised there are some buried rocks and concrete that we didn't know about. I may need to rake some areas, and certainly need to see about removing the last stubs from the sidewalk to recreate that defensive zone. My partner Doug plans to drive over the parking lot to press it down some before ordering a load of fresh gravel to top it. Progress!

I fed the birds. I've seen a mixed flock of sparrows and house finches. Cardinals are singing.

I put out water for the birds.

EDIT 3/19/26 -- I put about half a bag of topsoil into the hole in front of the garden shed to smooth it out. That may need more later after it settles, but it'll do for now.

EDIT 3/19/26 -- I filled a flat of 12 pots with potting soil and in each pot I planted 5 seeds of short landrace marigolds. These are similar to Shithouse Marigolds but shorter. If I can get them growing well, I can save money buying nursery marigolds. I covered them with a plastic tub to serve as a greenhouse. I still need to label them though.

EDIT 3/19/26 -- I labeled the marigolds.

I checked the east path. It doesn't really need anything but grass seed. We'll need to buy a big bag of that. Recommended time for spring sowing is late March to mid-April.

I checked the parking lot. I picked up a few pieces of junk that were churned up, but it's also pretty good. I do need to work on clearing more of the sidewalk, but a lot of that will just be brushing dirt off it.

EDIT 3/19/26 -- I did a bit of work around the patio.

EDIT 3/19/26 -- I started working on the sidewalk again. Much of what covers it is just loose dirt that needs to be scraped off. Some is still packed dirt and roots.

EDIT 3/19/26 -- I watered the seeds under tubs.

It's 71°F now. Over the next few days, it's supposed to reach 80°F. 0_o

EDIT 3/19/26 -- I started the process of topping up troughs on the new picnic table. I want to finish those first six with the self-mulching potting soil.

EDIT 3/19/26 -- I did more work around the patio.

EDIT 3/19/26 -- I finished topping up the troughs. I'll need to get more American Countryside potting mix. I like how it self-mulches. Soon I'll be planting peas in these. My plan this year, instead of putting the peas in their own container, is to space them out so they fertilize other plants. We'll see how that works.

While the deep freeze killed a fair amount of things, much has survived. Crocus have already put out new flowers. The bluebell leaves weren't as damaged as I expected. More squills are blooming.

It is 7:20 PM and not quite full dark. This was my first after-supper yardening session. :D

I am done for the night.
castiron: cartoony sketch of owl (Default)
[personal profile] castiron
The Count of Monte Cristo is one of my favorite books. I love the sprawling disparate characters and plotlines, and how as the book goes on, each seemingly random plotline or character links up until everything comes together in the end. Back when electronic devices couldn't be on during flights, it was the book I brought for plane reading because I knew I wouldn't finish it before I got to my destination. I still remember reading it as the plane pulled away from the gate at O'Hare, being utterly engrossed, and not realizing until the flight attendant's announcement that we had been parked on the tarmac for 45 minutes waiting for our turn to take off.

So when the Masterpiece adaptation showed up on PBS, I watched it with anticipation and hesitation. Would this do justice to one of my favorite books, or would I be shouting at my screen?

Turns out, yes to both.
episode-by-episode notes )

On balance, I think this adaptation does a decent job of conveying the theme of revenge and when it goes too far. The casting is great; Mikkel Boe Følsgard in particular is very right for Villefort, and Nicholas Maupas does a good job of portraying Albert's transition from carefree boy to chastened young man. And the costumes and sets are excellent; I have a much better mental image of the Carnval scenes now. I don't agree with all the choices the showrunners made to compress a sprawling novel with a bazillion characters and over-the-top plotlines into eight hours and a reasonably sized cast, especially when adding plotlines that aren't in the book. But the visuals are excellent, and overall I found it worth watching.

(Still, WTF, EPISODE 3???)

2026.03.19

19 Mar 2026 11:25 am
lsanderson: (Default)
[personal profile] lsanderson
Thanks to an art class and his trusty iPad, editorial cartoonist Steve Sack is back
The Pulitzer Prize winner, who thought he was done working when he lost use of his right hand, is drawing new cartoons for MinnPost and Substack readers.
by Eric Ringham
https://www.minnpost.com/community-voices/2026/03/thanks-to-an-art-class-and-his-trusty-ipad-editorial-cartoonist-steve-sack-is-back/

Some Minnesota seniors are advocating for a law change that would allow them to have real happy hours at nursing homes and other facilities, reports Session Daily. State law currently bars alcohol from being served in nursing homes. Via MinnPost
https://www.house.mn.gov/sessiondaily/Story/18994 Read more... )
midnight_heavenly_bodies: (jon001)
[personal profile] midnight_heavenly_bodies posting in [community profile] addme_fandom
Name: C.K. or Chester
Age group: mid-to-late 30s -- 36 specifically.
Country: USA
Subscription/Access Policy: 18+ only. No Harry Potter fans. No antis. No Chappell Roan stans (I see how y'all are treating my man and I don't like it.)  For a more in-depth 'about me', follow this link.

Main Fandoms: Culture Club (the greatest band of the '80s! I write fic for them and sometimes cross-post deep dives from my website on them.)
Other Fandoms: Linkin Park, WWE, Smoky Mountain Wrestling
Fannish Interests: Fanfiction mostly, and doing deep dives on my many OCs.
OTPs and Ships: Culture Club: Boy George/Jon Moss, Roy Hay/Mikey Craig; Linkin Park: Bennoda [Chester Bennington/Mike Shinoda]; Wrestling: Hartbreak (Bret Hart/Shawn Michaels), Shawnter (Shawn Michaels/Hunter Hearst-Helmsley), Candy (Cody Rhodes/Randy Orton); and then I have a lot of ships in my fandoms involving OCs. 

Favourite Movies: The Room (lol), Pretty in Pink, Borat, Major League, man there's so many and I can't think of all of them.
TV Shows: I actually don't watch TV.
Books: Broken Harts: The Life and Death of Owen Hart by Martha Hart
Music: I listen to a lot of '80s. My faves are Culture Club (and yes, that means I like Boy George's solo work too), a-ha, Depeche Mode, Yazoo, Information Society, New Order, The Cure, A Flock of Seagulls, Real Life, Johnny Hates Jazz, Mr. Mister, Oingo Boingo. Then outside of '80s music I like Massive Ego, $uicideboy$, Linkin Park, and Fort Minor.
Games: Sonic the Hedgehog (1, 2, 3), Sonic & Knuckles, Sonic 3D Blast, Pokemon, The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim, GTA series, Hitman series, WWE series, Tomb Raider (original games series), Crash Bandicoot 1 & 2, Legacy of Kain series
Comics/Anime/Misc: Not really into much comics or anime, but my fave anime is Death Note.

Profile

firecat: red panda, winking (Default)
firecat (attention machine in need of calibration)

March 2026

S M T W T F S
1234567
89 1011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031    

Page Summary

Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated 23 Mar 2026 04:02 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios